It’s pancake-day!!!

In honor of pancake-day, I thought I would share my favorite recipe of our typical Belgian crêpes. We celebrate pancake-day on the first tuesday of february. This year it was the second of february. And in the rest of the world it is a week later, so that was yesterday (the 9th). So this was perfect for me, because I got to celebrate one of my favorite sweets twice in one month.

Belgian Pancakes

IMG_2100

  • Ingredients
    • 200g flour
    • 1/2 l milk
    • 30g sugar
    • 4 eggs
    • some rum
    • butter
  • Directions
    • Sift the flour in a bowl and add the sugar. Make a little well in the center and add the eggs.
    • Start to mix the dough with a wooden spoon or a hand mixer. Add 1/3 of the milk, continue mixing.
    • Then add the rest of the milk and a little bit of salt. Mix it all well until completely smooth. 
    • You will get a liquid dough, but that’s perfect for our crêpes. 
    • Then we have the next step before baking them, our little family secret. Put a little bit of rum in the dough to give it a little extra and mix well.
    • Make sure your pan is buttered and hot before putting a bit of the dough in it. When the edges start to crisp or the top of the crêpe isn’t liquid anymore, flip the crêpe to bake the other side. 
    • Then put it on a plate and put another plate on top, so they stay warm until you eat them. 
    • You can top them with sugar, or jam or anything you want. The options or infinite…

I feel the rum and the sugar I put on my crêpe complement each other and it just gives an extra taste to the dessert. I definitely recommend you try this out, but beware you don’t put to much in it, or you’ll lose the taste of the crêpe. They should complement each other and not overtake one another.

Let me know if you tried this recipe and what you though of it and what is your favorite pancake recipe and topping? I’m always on the lookout for new recipes and ideas… So let me know!

love

Anna-Lisa ❤

Leave a Reply

