Easy Sugar Cookies

I love baking. Just love. It’s one of my favourite ways to pass the time, but only negative thing is that I live alone and I just can’t eat it all by myself. So every time somebody comes by or I’m invited somewhere, I take to my kitchen and I whip up something small (or big).

The recipe I mostly go to and one I have so much success with every single time, is this easy recipe for sugar cookies. What I love about this, is that you usually have all the ingredients at home and you can easily put some extra chocolate in it or other spices to switch it up a little bit.

IMG_5236

I first found this recipe right here, but switched it a tiny bit over time, switching the sour cream for yoghurt. I do feel it gives these cookies a lighter touch and they stay as long as when you use sour cream. Don’t forget to add either if you want the cookies to stay good for a longer time. It definitely helps to add moisture to the cookies.

IMG_5232

Easy Sugar Cookies

  • Servings: a small batch (definitely double it if you want to have more) I usually get 30 small cookies out of it.
  • Ingredients
    • ¼ cup (60gr) unsalted butter (at room temperature)
    • ⅓ cup (65gr) granulated sugar
    • 1 egg yolk from a large egg (you can freeze the egg whites and then use it to make other delicious recipes)
    • 1 tbsp full fat yoghurt (or sour cream)
    • ½ tbsp vanilla extract
    • 1 cup (130gr) self raising flour
    • ⅛ tsp salt
  • Directions
    • Cream the sugar and the butter in a deep bowl. Then add the egg yolk with the vanilla extract. Mix until everything is well-blended. Scrape of the sides to make sure to incorporate all the ingredients.
    • Add the yoghurt or sour cream and mix again.
    • Add the flour and the salt. Mix everything.
    • The batter will start to look odd and curdle. That’s the point where you start using your hands to put the cookie dough together. Add some flour if you feel it’s not firm enough or not easy enough to handle.
    • When you have a sort of solid dough, roll it between 2 sheets of wax paper. Use your favourite cookie cutter(s) to cut out the shapes you want. Bake these at 180°C for 6 minutes and then rotate your tray and bake for another 3 minutes. Keep an eye on it. Your baking time may vary depending on the thickness of your cookies.
    • Let them cool completely before enjoying them.

Some variations I made here or Chocolate cookies (I just added some cacao powder with my vanilla) and Pumpkin Spice Cookies (here I added some pumpkin spice to the batter). They all tasted great.

IMG_5235

This is a super simple recipe for a small batch. So if you want more cookies, just double or triple it and enjoy. Honestly, these will rock your world.

Let me know in the comments if you made these and what you think of it. And don’t forget to share your favourite cookie recipe.  I’d love to learn and try some new recipes. Even though I look through the internet each day looking for new recipes, I’m sure there’s a lot more out there that I haven’t found yet. Let’s share the love for cooking.

love

Anna-Lisa ❤

Leave a Reply

