Healthy Snacks

There’s not one store that makes packages just for one person. Living alone, it’s sometimes hard for me to eat something different every single day, because of the quantities I have to buy. I do make my menus beforehand for the week to come and I always have to think about the fact that I’ll probably eat the same thing 2-3 times a week, just because in stores they always package the food for a family of 2 to 4. Why? No idea, there are so many people living alone in this world that this fact sometimes makes me wonder if they actually know their customers.

Anyways, I’m usually left with a lot of food, bit more bits and pieces: an apple here, some vegetables there… There’s always a little bit too much than my recipes call for. So, I started to look for some ways to use these vegetables and fruits I had left and I made chips out of them. I had some kale over from a smoothie I made on Sunday, some sweet potato and an apple. You can find my recipe for them right here.

IMG_5468

Kale Chips

  • Ingredients
    • some kale
    • some olive oil
    • some spices (cayenne pepper, paprika, salt, pepper…)
  • Directions
    • Pre-heat the oven to 150°C.
    • Massage the kale with the olive oil (so it’s evenly spread) and put some spices in it, as much as you want. you can absolutely, truly go wild here.
    • Put them in a single layer on a baking sheet with parchment paper. And bake for 10 minutes. Turn the baking sheet around and cook for another 15 minutes.
    • Do keep an eye on them, because the cooking time depends on the amount of kale, on your oven…
    • Leave them to rest for about 5 minutes before enjoying them.

IMG_5475

Sweet Potato Chips

  • Ingredients
    • a large potato
    • some olive oil
    • some spices (salt, pepper, paprika, cayenne pepper…)
  • Directions
    • Pre-heat the oven to 200°C.
    • Slice the sweet potato with a mandoline in thin slices. Toss them in a bowl with the olive oil and spices of your choice. I only used salt and pepper this time.
    • Put them in a single layer on a baking sheet with parchment paper. And bake for 10-15 minutes.
    • Take them out of the oven and let them rest. Drop the oven to a 100°C. When the chips are cold, put the baking sheet back in the oven for another 2-3 hours until they are crips and golden.
    • Do keep an eye on them, because the cooking time will depend on your oven and the thinness of your slices.
    • Leave them to rest for about 5 minutes before enjoying them.

IMG_5476

Apple Chips

  • Ingredients
    • 1-2 apples
    • some spices (allspice, cinnamon…)
  • Directions
    • Pre-heat the oven to 100°C.
    • Slice the apple with a mandoline in thin slices. Toss them in a bowl with the spices of your choice. I put some cinnamon on mine.
    • Put them in a single layer on a baking sheet with parchment paper. And bake for 2-3 hours, until they are crisp and golden. I put a tiny bit of coconut oil on them, but you actually don’t need it.
    • Do keep an eye on your chips, because the cooking time will depend on your oven, the thinness of your slices and your apples.
    • Leave them to rest a little bit before enjoying them.

These are all amazing, because they’re healthy, easily enjoyed and so, so easy to make. They do take a long time to make, but the actual work you put in them is nothing compared with the time you’ll take to enjoy them. (Actually, I ate my kale chips in like 5 minutes… but I took my time with the others to really enjoy them)

Try them out and let me know which vegetables of fruits you would love me to try next.

Don’t hesitate to post some recipes you would like to share. I want to try all of them and learn some new ones. Even though I look through the internet every day looking for new recipes, I’m sure there’s a lot more out there that I haven’t even seen yet. Let’s share the love for cooking.

love

Anna-Lisa ❤

Leave a Reply

