Curried Sweet Potato Soup

I must be honest with you guys, it’s currently 10°C in Belgium and it just doesn’t feel like Spring to me. I would love to eat salads and enjoy all the fresh produce nature brings us this time of year, but after a few days into spring it’s still freezing at night. What to do about it?

So while I’ll keep my recipes for different salads still in my library, I’ll keep making soups until it’s warm enough out there to enjoy the rest. Here you can find one of my newer favorites. It’s a curried sweet potato soup. It’s flavorful, hot and the roasted sweet potatoes give it a fuller taste, without making it to heavy to enjoy. What I like most about this one is that you can make it as hot as you want. Adding some more toppings like extra curry paste will give this an extra boost, or just adding some lime or paprika will give it some extra taste without adding that much heat.

IMG_5451

Curried Sweet Potato Soup

  • servies 6-8 portions
  • Ingredients
    • 4 large sweet Potatoes
    • 3 tbsp coconut oil
    • 1 red onion, roughly chopped
    • 3 tsp Thai Red Curry paste
    • 3/4 tsp ground ginger
    • 1/2 tsp ground cayenne pepper
    • 1,5 l vegetable stock
    • sea salt to taste
    • zest and juice of 1 lime
  • Directions
    • Preheat the oven to 200° C.
    • Wash the sweet potatoes and pierce all over with a fork. Wrap tightly in foil, place on a baking sheet, and roast for 45-55 minutes, or until the potatoes are soft and tender. Unwrap and set aside to cool.
    • Use a sharp knife to remove any bad spots on the sweet potatoes and then cut them into 5 cm pieces.
    • Heat a big pot over a medium-high heat. Add the coconut oil and then the onion. Sauté and stir often. Stir in the curry paste, spices and let it cook to really flavour the onion. Add the sweet potatoes and the stock. Bring mixture to a boil, and then turn the heat down and simmer uncovered for 20 minutes.
    • Give the soup a quick puree (in the pot, or in a blender). Make sure there’s still a little bit of texture. Return the pot to reheat to serve. Check the taste before serving, adding the lime zest and juice at the very end.
    • Ladle soup into warm bowls and garnish the way you like it with swirls of chili paste, yoghurt or a sprinkle of paprika or parsley, or all of them together. Serve each bowl with an additional wedge of lime on the side.

IMG_5450

This is an amazing soup recipe for a nice night out. It’s combination of the sweet potatoes with the heated red curry paste is just perfection and you can really adapt it to your taste. I added a little bit of paprika on mine the first time and the second time I added some extra curry paste on top to heat it up a little more, and both worked great. It’s so versatile. Try it out and let me know what you think.

I don’t remember exactly where I got this recipe from, but I found it somewhere online. So if you recognize it, please let me know so I can give credit to the right person.

Don’t hesitate to post some recipes you would like to share. I want to try all of them and learn some new ones. Even though I look through the internet every day looking for new recipes, I’m sure there’s a lot more out there that I haven’t even seen or heard of yet. Let’s share the love for cooking.

love

Anna-Lisa ❤

Leave a Reply

