Skinny Banana Muffin

Even though summer is finally making its way to us, slowly, ever so slowly… I keep finding myself trying new recipes with cinnamon. I think I’m obsessed. I  recently had some overripe bananas that I had to either throw away or use in baking, because I would be gone for the weekend and they wouldn’t survive if I just let them. And off course I decided to bake.

So I looked for a recipe that combined bananas and some applesauce I made a few days ago. And then I felt upon this recipe. I did change it up a little bit, but was so excited with the result, that I’ll definitely try this one out again. Here we go.

IMG_5621

Skinny Banana Muffin

  • Makes 12
  • Ingredients
    • 3 bananas
    • ¼ cup honey
    • ⅓ cup coconut oil, melted
    • ⅓ cup unsweetened applesauce
    • 1 egg of choice
    • 1 tsp vanilla extract
    • 2 cups white whole wheat flour
    • 1 tsp baking soda
    • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
    • ½ tsp salt
    • ½ tsp ground nutmeg
    • ⅓ cup chopped pecans
  • Directions
    • Preheat your oven to 180° C.
    • In a large bowl, add the bananas. Using a fork to mash them up until just small lumps are left. Add the honey, vanilla extract, applesauce, coconut oil and your egg of choice. I used a Chia seed-egg.
    • To make the chia seed-egg I ground up my Chia seed. Then in a small bowl I added 1 tbsp of ground chia seed with 3 tbsp of water and let it sit for about 5 minutes. That way the Chia has a few moments to absorb the water.
    • Use a fork to combine it all.
    • Add in your flour, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and nutmeg. Using a spatula, mix until wet and dry ingredients are completely combined.
    • Fold in the pecans.
    • Line each muffin tin with a cupcake liner.
    • Fill each muffin tin ¾ of the way full.
    • Bake for 15-17 minutes. keep an eye on them, as your baking time will depend on your oven.
    • And then enjoy. 🙂

IMG_5623

Let them rest for 5 minutes though, before eating them. You can either enjoy them cold or warm. I ate one right of the oven. (yes, I couldn’t wait.) And it was like fall exploded in my mouth.

I used the Chia-egg instead of a regular egge, because I hadn’t any in my house. So I had to improvise and I liked it. You don’t taste or feel the difference at all. This is definitely something I will be doing more often in baking to see how it affects other recipes.

IMG_5618

Try this one out and let me know what you think. Don’t hesitate to post some recipes you would like to share. I want to try all of them and learn some new ones. Even though I look through the internet every day looking for new recipes, I’m sure there’s a lot more out there that I haven’t even seen or heard of yet. Let’s share the love for cooking.

love

Anna-Lisa ❤

Leave a Reply

