Tropical Kale Smoothie

We have been hit by a wave of heat these last few days in Europe. In Belgium alone, at night we have around 25°C and in the afternoon we’ve been hitting 31-32°C. Not ideal weather for me, as I go by bike to work, but in this type of weather, I can’t but enjoy cool things. I’m eating salads every day. Drinking a lot, a lot of water to keep hydrated, but I’ll be glad when this is over.

The one thing I have been enjoying though, is that this is the ideal time to eat smoothie bowls as breakfast. I’ve been enjoying them nearly every morning this week and I wanted to share with you my favourite so far: The Tropical Kale Smoothie, as I call it. It combines fresh fruit with frozen. The frozen bananas makes it go all thick and the Kale adds a healthy benefit. Next to this, as to have enough proteins to last me all morning, I added some Protein powder and added some Almond butter, because honestly I’m just obsessed with this for the moment.

Let’s get to the recipe.

IMG_5796

Tropical Kale Smoothie

  • serves 1
  • Ingredients
    • 1 frozen banana
    • 140 g (frozen) pineapple
    • 100 g frozen mango
    • 45 g kale
    • 180-200 ml Almond milk or other milk of your choice, coconut milk would work here perfectly as well
    • 1 tbsp Maca powder
    • 1 tbsp of Protein powder of your choice
    • 20 g almond butter
  • Directions
    • Start with your fruit and vegetables, add your milk, almond butter and both powders in a blender.
    • Blend until smooth. This can take a few minutes, depending on your blender.
    • You can add more or less almond milk, until you have the desired consistency.
    • Pour into a bowl and top with your favourite toppings. I added some Goji berries and some shredded coconut.
    • Enjoy !

This is such a nice and tasty smoothie. So fresh and just enjoyable overall. It does feel and taste like an entire meal and it kept me full until the end of the morning, which is really important for me. I don’t like to snack in the morning, so it’s really important for me that I can go on until lunch.

IMG_5798

The Kale gives this smoothie a nice green colour. The banana makes it thicker and smooth. The frozen mango and pineapple give it a sweeter taste, while the almond butter smooths it all over afterwards. I also think the shredded coconut gives it a more tropical flavour. Next time, I’ll try it with coconut milk. Unfortunately I didn’t have any at home this week, but I definitely added it to my grocery shopping list for next week.

IMG_5793

Try this one out and let me know what you think. Don’t hesitate to post some recipes you would like to share. I want to try all of them and learn some new ones. Even though I look through the internet every day looking for new recipes, I’m sure there’s a lot more out there that I haven’t even seen or heard of yet. Let’s share the love for cooking.

love

Anna-Lisa ❤

Leave a Reply

